Compressed Time is a group exhibition that has been conceived especially for FS.ART at Potsdamer Straße in Berlin and presents works by Maxime Ballesteros, Martin Boyce, Paul Hutchinson, Caro Jost, Wilhelm Klotzek, Caroline Kryzeck, Alicja Kwade, Bernhard Martin, Olaf Metzel, Gerold Miller,and Anselm Reyle. The show presents a variety of mediums including painting, sculpture and photography.

The Potsdamer Straße exemplifies the „city myth“ as a place of change, renewal, and collapse as no other street in West Berlin does. To this day, traces of different periods and socio-political transformations that left their mark and shaped the street can be found there, as if on a journey through time.

Considering this background, Compressed Time deals with themes such as time and the memory linked to it, socio-political events and spatial redefinitions that – as in a palimpsest – have been deposited and inscribed layer by layer in Potsdamer Straße’s arterial road. In this context, it represents all the great streets and boulevards of the world, but it also builds a case for Berlin as an art metropolis.

The artistic contributions of the exhibiton all share their reference to this theme; the approaches are multifaceted and complex while also being analytic, descriptive and fictive. The artists show works in which these topics are examined directly and indirectly through metaphorical-poetic means or through subtle contextual shifts. The human condition is treated with subtle subversion by the the works of Maxime Ballesteros, Paul Hutchinson and Bernhard Martin. The aspect of time is described by Martin Boyce, Alicja Kwade and Anselm Reyle in a poetic, philosophical or purely visual way. Social upheavals are the subject of the pieces and installations by Wilhelm Klotzek and Olaf Metzel. The works by Caro Jost, Caroline Kryzeck and Gerold Miller can be read as spatial redefinitions and remeasurements.

The extraordinary multiplicity of Potsdamer Straße is still determined by its contrasting scenarios, its cosmopolitanism and tolerance, which offer space for the development of diverse ways of living and last but not least for art. Its rediscovery has triggered a process that suppresses its remarkable complexity, but at the same time allows new things to emerge; the new that perpetuates the eventful history of Potsdamer Straße and thus of Berlin as a whole.

Dr. Friederike Nymphius, 2021

Compressed Time ist eine speziell für FS.Art in der Berliner Potsdamer Straße entwickelte Gruppenausstellung mit Werken von Maxime Ballesteros, Martin Boyce, Caro Jost, Wilhelm Klotzek, Caroline Kryzecki, Alicja Kwade, Bernhard Martin, Olaf Metzel, Gerold Miller und Anselm Reyle. Die Präsentation umfasst Positionen aus Malerei, Skulptur und Photographie.

Die Potsdamer Straße steht wie keine andere im Berliner Westen für den Mythos Großstadt als Ort des Wandels, der Erneuerung und des Zerfalls. Bis heute lassen sich dort wie bei einer Zeitreise die Spuren der verschiedenen Epochen und der gesellschaftspolitischen Veränderungen finden, die sie geprägt und geformt haben. 

Vor diesem Hintergrund beschäftigt sich Compressed Time mit Themen wie Zeit, der daran gekoppelten Erinnerung, mit gesellschaftspolitischen Ereignissen und räumlichen Redefinitionen, die sich wie in einem Palimpsest schichtenweise in die Verkehrsader abgelagert und eingeschrieben haben. Die Potsdamer Strasse steht dabei stellvertretend für die großen Straßen und Boulevards dieser Welt, ist aber nicht zuletzt auch ein Plädoyer für Berlin als Kunstmetropole.

Die künstlerischen Beiträge teilen ihre Bezüge zu dem Thema, sind facettenreich und vielschichtig, behandeln es als Analyse, Beschreibung oder Fiktion. Die Künstler zeigen Werke, in denen diese Inhalte direkt und indirekt durch metaphorisch-poetische Annäherungen oder durch subtile kontextuelle Verschiebungen untersucht werden. Der existenzielle Aspekt wird von Maxime Ballesteros, Paul Hutchinson und Bernhard Martin subtil beleuchtet. Der zeitliche Aspekt wird von Martin Boyce, Alicja Kwade, Anselm Reyle auf poetischer, philosophischer oder auch rein visueller Ebene beschrieben. Gesellschaftliche Umbrüche sind das Thema der Bilder und Installationen von Wilhelm Klotzek und Olaf Metzel. Als räumliche Redefinitionen und Neuvermessungen können die Beiträge von Caro Jost, Caroline Kryzecki und Gerold Miller gelesen werden.

Noch misst sich der außergewöhnliche Facettenreichtum der Potsdamer Straße an ihren gegensätzlichen Szenarien, an ihrer Weltoffenheit und Toleranz, die Raum für die Entfaltung unterschiedlichster Lebensformen und nicht zuletzt für die Kunst eröffnet. Ihre Wiederentdeckung hat einen Prozess ausgelöst, der ihre außergewöhnliche Vielschichtigkeit verdrängt, zugleich aber Neues entstehen lässt, das die wechselvolle Geschichte der Potsdamer Straße und damit Berlins fortschreibt. 

Dr. Friederike Nymphius, 2021